Skip To Content

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is organized pursuant to Public Act 33 of 2008, as amended. The Planning Commission consists of nine members appointed by the City Council to serve three year terms. The Planning Commission is charged with developing the City’s Master Plan, establishing zoning districts and regulations applicable to each district covering the use of the land, accommodating and promoting land uses which are compatible with the city’s character, conserving property values and long term stability of residential neighborhoods, commercial districts, and industrial areas, promoting safe conditions for motorists, pedestrians and bicyclists, limiting improper use of land, and encouraging use of land natural resources in accordance with their character and capability. The Planning Commission meets on the second Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers.

  • 7 members
  • 3-year term
  • City Manager assists the Commission in carrying out its duties
  • Meets on the 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m.
Kenneth Crutcher, Chairperson 6/30/2017
Ken Chiara, Vice-Chairperson 6/30/2016
Paul Buyers, Secretary 6/30/2017
David Gronbach 6/30/2016
Steven Majoros 6/30/2018
Miriam Kmetzo 6/30/2018
Cathi Waun 6/30/2017

Click here for Planning Applications
Click here for Agendas and Minutes

 Staff Liaisons and Contacts  
Lisa McGill 248-474-5500, ext. 2229

Planning Resources

Zoning Code

Staff Liaisons and Contacts  
Kevin Christiansen, Economic and Community Development Director 248-474-5500 x2226
John Koncsol, Building Inspector/Code Official 248-473-7250
Sherrin Hood, LSL Planning 248-586-0505